Logo - CHF Canada

Ontario Council

The Ontario Council is the governing body of the Ontario Region.

Council members are elected at the annual meeting of Ontario members. At that meeting, members give direction to the Council; the Council then directs the work of the Ontario Region.

The Ontario Council has either eight or nine members. While some Council members represent specific groups, they are responsible to all Ontario members.

Council positions are:

  • four at-large members (three must come from housing co-ops)
  • one federations representative
  • one Northern Ontario representative
  • one staff organizations representative, and
  • one Ontario regional director from CHF Canada’s Board (if Council wishes, the Board can appoint a second director from Ontario).

Meet the current Council

At Large

Allison Chase (2nd Vice-President) click here for bio Email
David Corson (Treasurer) click here for bio Email
David McFarlane (President) click here for bio Email


Mary Ann Hannant (Vice-President) click here for bio Email

Northern Ontario

Sarah Jensen click here for bio Email

Staff Organizations

Carine Nind click here for bio Email

Ontario Regional Director

Tom Clement click here for bio Email

N.B. At the 2019 AGM, CHF Canada members passed Resolution R1: Governance Reorganization. The resolution directs the CHF Canada Board of Directors and Ontario Council to “reorganize into a single governance body by the close of business of the 2021 CHF Canada Annual General Meeting.”

Interested in getting involved?

Learn more about our elections; find out who can run and how to become a candidate.