Logo - CHF Canada

CHF Canada applauds two more bilateral housing agreements for Alberta and Yukon

Published March 25, 2019

Two people smile into the camera shaking hands over a stack of papers, as a crowd of people in hard hats and visibility vests look onEarlier this month, bilateral housing agreements on the deployment of the National Housing Strategy were signed between the Federal Government and the Governments of the Yukon Territories and the Province of Alberta.

These 10-year agreements will invest $678 million in Alberta and $60 million in the Yukon to protect, renew and expand social and community housing, and support housing repair, construction and affordability.

The governments of Canada, Alberta and the Yukon will also work together on the design and implementation of a new Canada Housing Benefit, to provide affordability support directly to families and individuals in housing need.

Alberta is home to 67 housing co-ops spread across the province. The Yukon has one housing co-op.

Agreements between the federal government and Ontario, British Columbia, New Brunswick, PEI and the Northwest Territories have already been signed. CHF Canada and co-ops in Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, and Nunavut continue to push their governments to sign a bilateral agreement and use the funding available to continue support for vulnerable households in housing co-ops.

Don't miss out on the latest co-op news, success stories, and helpful resources for your co-op. Sign up here to receive our eNews every two weeks straight to your inbox!